Athlete Spotlight – Anne


Athlete Spotlight – Anne

Meet Anne, the 34 year old Medical Student from Carlisle, PA – check out what she has to say about her fitness journey below.


When did you first start training at Bluprint Fitness?

September/October 2015

Favorite WOD/Workout

Lynne – 5 rounds of max rep bench press (it’s supposed to be BW…one day?) and pull-ups

Least Favorite WOD/Exercise

Dips of all shapes and sizes

Sports & Fitness Background

I played a fair number of sports through high school, and some intramurals in college but never considered myself an ‘athlete’ until I found Crossfit in 2009. I’ve been hooked ever since!

How did you first get exposed to Bluprint Fitness?

I first saw Bluprint Fitness while walking one of our dogs in the neighborhood, my husband, Chris, and I reached out to Byron and the rest is history. I don’t remember my first workout there, but I do remember Janelle’s laugh. It’s a good one!

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF? (before / after)

Bluprint is such a special place to train because the coaches make room for me to continue building strength and flexibility despite any number of changes life has thrown at me….from coming back to the gym after weeks of stress and travel to working out while pregnant. The support has allowed me to not only keep pushing myself mentally and physically despite the changes, but also to give myself grace when goals don’t ‘progress’ as fast as I want them to.

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like Bluprint Fitness that were totally unexpected?

Having confidence in the strength and capabilities of my own body is a gift I am so so thankful to have received.

Please share with us any favorite CrossFit/Bluprint Fitness moments and AND any advice for people just getting started.

Nervous about CrossFit because everyone looks like they’re working so hard? ASK them how long it took them to learn a hard skill or feel like they got the hang of things. We all start at the same place…with bigtime deficits…even people like my husband who has been squatting beautifully since birth. It took me 2 years of 5-6 days a week to get a pull up, and I’m still kind of terrible at quite a few gymnastic skills…but I am WAY better than I was 7 years ago when I started.

What are you hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of Bluprint Fitness?

Cooking, camping, adventuring, rock climbing, laughing, and finding the best damn tacos in Chicago.